BRIDGE

Galatians 6:7-10 …God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up…let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

I had reached an all time low on the last day of January that year.

A few nights later I went to sleep, after spending some time having a pity party for myself.

Somewhere in the early hours of the morning, I was awoken. It was as if the demon of depression himself was floating over me. I found myself in a panic. Not knowing what to do I rose, and made my way to my office. I didn’t dare switch a light on.

I pulled up a chair, and dropped to my knees. I wanted to pray; yet, no prayer would come. I was being attacked some how. This spirit seemed determined, to fill my head with the most dreadful thoughts. At that moment, death seemed better than life.

I wasn’t suicidal, yet this demonic spirit was certainly suggesting this to be a way out.

Suddenly, by the grace of God my imagination sprung forth. Perhaps it was my own spirit finally taking over, from my panicked brain. I am not a scientist nor a theologian, so I want even venture to guess which.

All I know is that I was standing on a small wooden bridge that looked to be very old. I looked down at a small stream, or creek as we would call it that flowed beneath.

I began to feel a certain calm. Then I heard a voice.

“ Look down, what do you see?”

I looked down, at what was a gentle flowing stream only moment earlier. It had become my life flowing by.

I was finally graduating school. I reached out and found my separation papers from the army in my hand. There was just a flow of wonderful events peacefully floating by. I felt so blessed.

I looked up to give thanks, but before I could speak the voice said. “Look again.”

I looked, wondering what other wonderful things were in store for me. To my surprise the water had turned dark, and was now whirling wildly. Upon closer inspection, I saw ever failure I had ever known floating by.

I saw the moments of my life that I had felt the most alone. There was the day my draft notice had came, . I again stood at my baby’s casket and the stream kept passing.

I looked up, to ask what pleasure he had in torturing me. Like the first time, he answered before I could speak.

“ Look down.”

I did, and this time it was just a thousand every day, days floating by. I was now totally confused.

I ask, “What does all this mean Lord?”

“ This to will pass. Savor the good times because they want always be with you. Don’t fear the bad times. Soon they will flow away from you. They like the good ones will follow into the sea of eternity.

Suddenly, the evil spirit’s chokehold was loosened.

For the first time, in a while I realized all I had to do was hold on just a little longer. The good times were just up stream.

I heard him whisper in my ear, “Just hold on son, just believe in me a little longer.”

Explore posts in the same categories: stories

One Comment on “BRIDGE”

  1. angie Says:

    that was really good, daddy!


Leave a Reply

