Chasing Your Tail

I set out on my deck early this morning drinking a cup of tea and reading the paper.

A noise caught my attention. I looked over to find my neighbor’s new puppy. He is about three months old. He had awoke today and suddenly discovered there was something extending from his body. He seemed quiet worried about it. I suppose he thought it might be a stick or even a rope. You and I know that it was simply his tail.

He would some day figure this out for himself. Today though, it was a worrisome problem. He could neither bite nor even catch hold of it. The more he chased it. The more it worried him.

I couldn’t help but think of my own self and all the times that I have spent wasted hours worrying about answers that seemed just out of my reach.

Like all puppies he has to learn on his own but for me that old hymn came to mind, “surrender, surrender all.”

It is such a simple thing, yet when we are faced with decisions we often decide to keep chasing our tail or should I say, “ Our worries.”

Give all your worries to God, because he cares about you.
1 Peter 5:7

Explore posts in the same categories: stories

Leave a Reply

