Have You Ever Been Curious ? ? ?

The other day my daughter Angie placed the following comment about something I wrote.

That was a lot to take in! Your mind must seem like a whirlwind sometimes.

She was of right of course but my mind is mostly trying to take in every thing around me. My curiosity never sleeps. I often dream of odd things and it is nothing unusual for me to wake in the night and think of something strange or unusual.

The whole purpose behind this blog is to keep a drain on my thoughts. My keeping a constant ground to my thoughts allows my mind to continually take new and exciting things in. The fact that between ten to twenty of you read this each day is simply icing on the cake. With that said I should begin my blog for today.

Has any one other than me ever thought about how curiosity rules our lives.

From the time, we are infants until the day we die most of us are curious about something.

In my life, I have known some very evil people. The one thing that they had in common was curiosity.

Hold on, don’t get carried away with this statement. In my lifetime, I have known some very righteous people. They had the same curiosity.

I don’t care if you are talking about the mother of all of us, Eve or Hitler. They both were driven by curiosity.

I am sure someone will disagree but after much thought. I don’t think it is possible to truly know God without a good supply of curiosity.

By the time babies can focus their eyes they are looking curiously around at the world.

One of the last things the dying often do is look around one last time.

As if to say, “Did I miss any thing while I was here?”

The most boring people I have ever known had little curiosity.

Your very being here most likely started with a curious look. Your father spotted your mother and wanted to know more about her. It may have been the other way around or both. Still no curiosity and there would have been no, you.

I have known two crack heads very well. They both worked for me and they were both brilliant men. As our friendship developed, I ask them how they could ever get involved with crack. I wanted to know how could Satan have tempted them with such a thing.

Their answer was the same. The first time was a overwhelming curiosity. The rest was temptation.

The man or woman that has an insatiable curiosity about God soon finds him or herself walking close with Him.

Before we had a sex drive, we were curious about what made the other sex different.

I will tell you something weird about myself.

Sorry, it has nothing to do with sex. After all my daughter reads this blog from time to time. It does have something to do with root beer though. Not sex, but still interesting.

When I was a little kid, I was curious about the taste of root beer. I tasted it and thought it was horrible.

When I became a teenager, I found myself curious all over again. I hated it worse the second time.

Several times sense then my curiosity has managed to over shadow my memory and I have tried it yet again. Each time I was reminded how bad I hated it. Still curiosity got the best of me.

It took a great amount of curiosity for me to try sushi. After all my mother only had to tell me once not to eat raw animals. I was a dumb kid but not a stupid one.

Curiosity is often stronger than fear. I have always been afraid of heights. Still as a child and a teenager my curiosity over road my fear. When a boy I just had to know how it felt to be in the top of a tree.

When I was a teenager, I climbed to the top of a water tower. I am talking about the very top were the light was. With each step I wanted to throw up and I was so scared I thought my knees would turn to jelly. Still I had to know just what it was like up there.

Edison, was so curious he tried to invent the light bulb 10,000 times. Because of his curiosity, we have what we do today.

Once my wife Pam, got curious and saw an ad in the paper for car salespeople. Just like Eve before her, she convinced me to go and apply. 35 years later I am still in the car business.

Just like Adam I should have asks. “Have you lost your mind?” However, just like my great ten thousand times granddaddy, Adam.

I said, “Let me try a little of that. If I don’t like it I will do something else.” Without curiosity we are no longer alive. Oh maybe in body. Still can you imagine living a life without curiosity?

I will close here because I am curious to see whats’ on TV. Oh, by the way I am glad you were curious enough to see what crazy something I was writing about today.

See you tomorrow

Curious gary

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: March 2009, ramdom thoughts

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Have You Ever Been Curious ? ? ?”

  1. Frances Reeves Says:

    Curiosity has brought me into many situations in my life. Some very good, some very bad. I guess I have never thought of it quite like you have before. That is easily explained because you are the most curious person I have ever know. As I was reading this story my mind kept drifting to what you must have been like as a child. Every parent knows what it is like during that stage of a toddlers life when almost everything that comes out of their mouth starts with a W. What, Why,When and Where seems to be favorite words for several months for every toddler. I can’t begin to guess how many times those words came out of your little mouth. Bless your mama’s heart ! That said, I am glad to have such a curios friend. You keep me thinking with you stories, even the crazy ones I’ve heard over the years.

  2. angie Says:

    well 2 things about this:
    1. I HATED the comments about sex
    2. I LOVED the comment about Mama seeing an ad in the paper for a car salesman! I laughed really hard about the whole coinsidence (sp?) of it all.


Leave a comment