Easter Bunnies

The original Easter Bunny was probably associated with the Pagan equinox festival that predated Easter. The Saxons devoted the month of April to celebrating their goddess of spring and fertility. Eastre’s sacred animal was the hare – not surprising since the rabbit is one of the most common symbols of fertility and rebirth.

The colored eggs carried by today’s Easter bunnies have another, even more ancient origin. Eggs have long been associated with fertility and springtime festivals – for so long, in fact, that the precise roots of the association are unknown. Ancient Romans and Greeks utilized eggs in festivals celebrating resurrection of their gods.

Don’t worry. I am not going to tell you why you shouldn’t fool with eggs and rabbits.

If I did, I would be a bigger hypocrite than what I am. My kids grew up with Santa Clause and Easter bunnies.

I have asked myself from time to time something and I will ask you.

Lets just say you die and you are in heaven. Jesus comes up to you and ask.

“I don’t completely understand how the rabbit and egg thing glorified me. Would you mind explaining that to me?”

What would I say?????? What would you say?

Now that is out of my system, allow me to give you a sneak overview into my following week of blogs.

I plan to take each day from Monday through next Sunday and explain what I understand to be what Christ was doing on these days all those years ago.

If you think I miss something or that I am in correct please let me know.

Be advised though I doubt seriously if I have him going on any Easter egg hunts. There most likely want be any mention of a rich dark choclate bunny either.I just had to throw that one in. Sorry.

ggs

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituel, stories

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

