Swine Flu and Cave Men

I was wondering something as I was cooking outside today.

Before I get into what I was wondering I guess I should put a disclaimer here.

I believe both in the story of Adam and Eve as well as cave men and dinosaurs and such. Most people believe in one or the other. I have settled this matter in my own mind quiet a while back.

That is another story for another day though. Today if you don’t believe in cave men pretend, you do for just a while. I am going to use cave men in my example. Mainly because I think, Adam and Eve were more advance than the cave man and much more intelligent.

Now that the disclaimer is out of the way, we can proceed.

I have a basic idea how the cave man discovered fire. You most likely have heard the same story as me. Lightning strikes a tree causing it to blaze. The cave man sees it and discovers he doesn’t have to set in the cold and dark all night any longer.

That in it self is easy to understand. I can even understand how he tried every thing that grew and finally figured out what was tasty and what was not.

What I don’t understand is how he looked at an animal and said that looks good. I think I will chase him down and bite a piece out of  him.

I wonder what part of the animal caught his attention. I am sure he had never seen a steak or pork chop before. Just think about this.

Here comes a huge bird flying down to eat him. The bird suddenly hears his prey say. “Oh boy, here comes to big drum sticks.”

If you have figured that out let, me know. Next, I want to know how he decided one day to cook the drumstick.

Think about it from lightning to drum sticks. That is a big leap for any one.

I wonder how long it took after that before he said, “Hmm, this would be better with some sauce. I think I will invent some and call it my personal secret sauce.

All right maybe I have about convinced myself it wasn’t any cave men after all.

I know the above was a stupid thing to think about. Forgive me.

I was trying to get my mind off  the idea that a pig gave a bird the flu and then the bird gave it to a Mexican who gave it to someone in California. Now they are calling it a global something or the other.

I think I am back to believing in cave men lightning, barbecue and secret sauce. It makes more sense.

Hope you are having a great weekend.

ggs

PS  Believe it or not we are getting close to 1500 hits.  That in itself is stranger to me than cave men and swine flu combined.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, ramdom thoughts, stories

One Comment on “Swine Flu and Cave Men”


  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be subscribing to your blog.


Leave a Reply

