TV

I normally read at night. If my TV is own, I simply look at it from time to time.

I am on basic cable with Internet. I guess I have dozen or so channels. What ever comes with the basic service.

I decided to watch the old box tonight rather than read. I surfed through my channels and declared that there wasn’t any thing on. With that said, I picked my book up and started reading again.

My kids have cable and satellite dishes at their houses. They pick up hundreds of channels. Still I have heard them say. “It isn’t any thing on TV.

My advice is, get a book.

When I was a small child, we lived over a hundred miles from the nearest TV station. There was no cable where we lived. In fact, there were no telephone lines back then. All we had was the two wires that belong to what was then called Mississippi Power and Lights.

Because we lived so for from a station and at the bottom of a hill rather than on top of one we had an antenna. It was huge. It was so tall it had guide wires to keep it from tumbling over.

If you were running at night you could easily run into one and knock yourself out. When you came to your mother would spank you for messing up the TV single.

Any way years later a business opportunity for my dad caused us to move to Greenville MS. Greenville actually had cable. You could pick up six channels.

I felt we were on the cutting edge of communications. After all, when I was small with our huge antenna we were only able to pick up channel 3 and channel 12 in Jackson.

With cable, we were able to pick up the three Jackson channels along with one in Louisiana, one in Arkansas and one in Greenwood.

Now this was innovation at its best.

My grandmother came to visit us once. The first thing I wanted to show her was our cable system. I twisted the knob showing her all the channels.

I ask what she thought about this compared to her two channels.

Her answer was quick and to the point. Why you need all them channels. You can’t watch but one at the time.

As she walked back into the kitchen she turned and said I bet it want be no time you’ll be saying there ain’t nothing on TV just like you did when you only had two channels.

Goodness that was one wise woman.

The more of something you have the more you think you need. Would 10,000 channels be enough?

There are already millions of web sites and people set for hours surfing, looking for something.

I will close by quoting John D. Rockefeller.

A reporter once asks him what is enough.

“I don’t know I have never had enough.”

If this has been a little boring today I will leave you with something that may or may not replace that bored look with a smile.

Have a great day.
ggs

An Israeli doctor says, “Medicine in my country is so advanced that we can take a kidney out of one man, put it in another, and have him looking for work in six weeks.”

A German doctor says “That is nothing; we can take a lung out of one person, put it in another, and have him looking for work in four weeks.”

A Russian doctor says “In my country, medicine is so advanced that we can take half a heart out of one person, put it in another, and have them both looking for work in two weeks.”

The Illinois doctor, not to be outdone, says “You guys are way behind, we recently took a man with no brains out of Illinois and placed him in the White House. After one month he has half the world looking for work”

Thanks for the above Connie.

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing up, humor, ramdom thoughts, stories

3 Comments on “TV”

  1. Davis Says:

    I too love surfing but it drives my wife crazy. Is this a man thing? I wonder

  2. rmdagagpkxw Says:

    j8ICgA sghlwjeqpezt, [url=http://dzuuivkarjcl.com/]dzuuivkarjcl[/url], [link=http://iclsbbivnwnh.com/]iclsbbivnwnh[/link], http://blraylhvplvd.com/

  3. FrankLX Says:

    GoodFTA – Nice site. enjoyed it. Will be back


Leave a Reply

