I Don’t Believe It

When I was a little kid, I remember my grandmother and granddaddy discussing the weather. One would say, “We best pick them peas today.” Its goanna rain day after tommorer.

“Yeah, I noticed it jest tis mornin.” (Now you know why I talk so funny.)

These forecasts came from how the chickens were feeding or something to do with a barnyard animal.  A ring around the moon forecast meant rain. A dog’s fur often told of the coming winter and how hard it would be. Then there was the telling sign of a hog walking around with a stick in his mouth.

You most likely are setting here saying to yourself, “How silly.”

My only answer is that about 90% of time, they were dead on it and other times they simply missed it by afternoon or night.

You can imagine how confused I was when I saw the first real weatherman on TV with all his maps and icons and he said. “The Weatherman says.”

He was quoting an expert and he couldn’t get it right half as many times as my grandparents had.

Next, the National Weather Service came alone. They didn’t get it right more than 33% of the time.

After that came Storm track, Weather Track and any other track, you can think of. They all joined in with the National Weather Service.

I didn’t bother me that this group of experts  couldn’t get it right a week out like my grandparents had. It didn’t even bother me that they couldn’t forecast the next day. It did bother me that they couldn’t get the next weather right for Jackson when the front was crossing the river at Vicksburg. (Thirty or so miles from here if you aren’t from MS)

Now they can tell you what is happening on the street a block from your house. They will touch the screen and show you right on TV. Still they miss it when it comes to what is going to happen on your street the next block over.

When I awoke this morning, I had twelve weather warning on my email. There was another hand full of watches.

I looked out side to see how many trees were down. My deck wasn’t even wet.

No wonder people ignore the tornado sirens.

Weather has become a weird type of entertainment. The weathermen think they are movie stars. They do everything but sing, dance and get the forecast right.

My grandparents were smart enough never to try to predict snow. They knew that was one  secret, God kept to himself. Especially when it came to the south. These idiot weather people predict and miss it a half dozen times a year.

In your life, how many times have you counted on a snow day only to find the sun shinning when you woke?

You know if they simply said there is a 50% chance it will rain today and a 50% chance it want. They would get it right. Even a stopped clock is on time twice a day.

While I am venting, I will talk a little about this last flu. The big Mexican, Pig, Bird, Human flu or what ever they are calling it today.

Before you get to excited, allow me to remind you of the last  flu out break.

In February 1976, an outbreak of swine flu struck Fort Dix Army base in New Jersey, killing a 19-year-old private and infecting hundreds of soldiers. Concerned that the U.S. was on the verge of a, devastating epidemic President Gerald Ford ordered a nationwide vaccination program at a cost of $135 million (some $500 million in today’s money).

Within weeks, reports surfaced of people developing Guillain-Barré syndrome, a paralyzing nerve disease that can be caused by the vaccine. By April, more than 30 people had died of the condition. Facing protests, the federal officials abruptly canceled the program on Dec. 16. The epidemic failed to materialize.

One died of the flu. Thirty died from government help.

My friend, Dwayne once shared with me how the government was going to drill a hole for a toilet for his granddaddy. This was many years ago. The old man passed on the help. He was afraid the government would screw it up some how. He was a wise man.

If you can’t trust them with a toilet hole or the weather are you, sure you can trust them with your health.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, May 09, ramdom thoughts, stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “I Don’t Believe It”

  1. Davis Says:

    don’t forget Doppler radar — not sure how we could survive without. Thanks for the amusing post


  2. […] I Don't Believe It « Gartalker's Blog ; […]
    This was borrowed and placed on the above log


  3. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will likely be coming back to your site. Keep up the good posts


Leave a Reply

