Our economy in a nut shell

It is a slow day in the East Texas town of Madisonville .

 It is raining, and the little town looks totally deserted. 

 Times are tough, everybody is in debt and everybody lives on credit.

 On this particular day, a rich tourist from the East is driving through town.

 He enters the only hotel in the sleepy town and lays a hundred dollar bill on the desk stating he wants to inspect the rooms upstairs in order to pick one to spend the night. 

 As soon as the man walks up the stairs, the hotel proprietor takes the hundred-dollar bill and runs next door to pay his debt to the butcher.

 The butcher takes the $100 and runs down the street to pay his debt to the pig farmer. 

 The pig farmer then takes the $100 and heads off to pay his debt to the supplier of feed and fuel.

 The guy at the Farmer’s Co-op takes the $100 and runs to pay his debt to the local prostitute, who has also been facing hard times and has lately had to offer her “services” on credit. 

 The hooker runs to the hotel and pays off her debt with the $100 to the hotel proprietor, paying for the rooms that she had rented when she brought clients to that establishment.

  The hotel proprietor then lays the $100 bill back on the counter so the rich traveler will not suspect anything.

 At that moment, the traveler from the East walks back down the stairs, after inspecting the rooms.

 He picks up the $100 bill and states that the rooms are not satisfactory……  Pockets the money, walks out the door, and leaves town.

 No one earned anything.  However, the whole town is now out of debt, and looks to the future with a lot of optimism.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is how the United States Government is conducting business today. 

 If that doesn’t scare you, then I don’t know what will.  

I wish I could say I thought this up on my own but I can’t.

My wife sent it to me. She can’t understand why I keep studying the silly thing.

The truth is I am amazed. It is so true. We have become a nation that pays our debts with thin air. We make nothing any more. Most of us make a living servicing and selling what we import. 

The rest work for the banks, government or hospitals. Most of these jobs are simply the high paying end of the service business.

Am I the only one that thinks this country is teetering on the edge?

The sad part is I have known idea on the edge of what.

 ggs

Explore posts in the same categories: Current events, humor, June 09, stories

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Our economy in a nut shell”

  1. Davis Says:

    that’s “economy”, right?

    • gary Simmons Says:

      Things I should never do.

      Never hit send until I hit spell check.

      Never write early in the morning.

      Never write when I am late for work.

      I am afraid that I am guilty of all the above.

      Most of the times I try to remember spell check.

      Still I often write this blog as soon as I get up. I often finish it before hurrying out the door.

      A thousand pardons and thanks for putting up with me.

      ggs

  2. Steve G Says:

    What you just described is capitalism, which sadly is NOT how the government does business.

    Everyone in this story neither made nor lost money. It’s a wash, because for every person the same $100 paid a debt, but also had a debt paid.

    If I owe you $100, and you owe “Jim” a $100, and “Jim” owes me $100, then no money actually has to pass hands. We can just all say “debt paid in full” and go on with life. This is actually what happened here.

    The government is different because, (a) they would have to borrow the initial amount from a another source. One supposedly not in this “debt loop”, and one that would require interest to be paid in addition to the borrowed sum.

    The other key difference is, if I (The U.S) owe you (The world) money, and refuse to pay, and there’s no legal authority powerful enough to make me pay, and you aren’t able to physically make me pay, do I actually, in reality, owe you anything? I say no.

  3. gary Simmons Says:

    Good point Steve


Leave a Reply

