Daddy

According to Wikipedia, Father’s Day was celebrated first on July 2, 1908 in Virginia by a preacher nameed of Dr. Robert Webb. He used his church for the first celebration on July 5, 1908.

Now I have given you the source you can decide for yourself if this is true or not.

I like the idea that the church came up with Father’s Day though. I believe the church understands the importance of fathers more than the world does. The world sees us as a seed planter and that is about it.

Today, if you are a kid living with your original father. Your friends might look at you as different. 

Being a father was the best thing I have ever done. It is the one thing in life. I wouldn’t change a thing about if given a choice.

This year I got a pair of crocks for Father’s Day. For some reason I have never bought a pair. I was always going to but never got around to it. Maybe it was something left over from all those years of someone else needing or wanting something more than I did.

No one ever tells a father to step back or place himself in second place. He just some how manages to do it without ever making a big deal out of it.

I went to see my father last weekend. He is one of God’s greatest gifts to me. I don’t go see him enough nor do I call enough. Still I think of him often. He was the one that taught me to be a father. He was the one that taught me to put others ahead of myself. He is the one that taught me to look strong on the outside even when I felt weak on the inside. He is the one that taught me how to say no and mean it even when I wanted so bad to say yes.

To this day, he is the one constant thing in my life. When facing a problem that seems to have no end I often wonder what he would have done in the same circumstances. The same answer always comes back clear. He would pray and then follow the answer. No matter how unpopular that answer was. Thank God, he listened to The Lord and not us during those trials.

If my children remember me today with half the love and respect that I remember my Daddy, then I have done a good job.  

Your father was there at conception. Your daddy sit on the edge of the bed at night when you were throwing up or the monster was under the bed. He most likely never mentioned he would be up in a little while going to work.

If you are reading this and are a father, I say keep it up. I have been called many things in my life. Some were not so complimentary. Still my favorite has always been Daddy.

 ggs

Explore posts in the same categories: June 09, ramdom thoughts, stories

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Daddy”

  1. angie Says:

    just saying Goodaddy automatically brings a smile on my face. He symbolizes a very deep love to me. Yes I do think JUST AS MUCH about you as I do Goodaddy. You are a fantastic father and I love you, respect you, am thankful for you, and blessed to have you! Happy Father’s Day.


Leave a Reply

