THE ROAD TRIP

Recently on a road trip, Pam, my wife and I stopped at a roadside restaurant for lunch.  After finishing our meal, we left and resumed the trip.

I guess we had drove about thirty minutes when Pam realized she had left her glasses at the restaurant.  After thinking about it a few second it came to her she had left them on the sink in the restroom.

She has three pairs so I sweetly suggested that she call and ask the manager to mail that pair.

Oh, no you would have thought we had left one of the grand kids behind.  Nothing would do except that we turn around and go get them.  We were on the interstate by then so we had to drive close to another thirty minutes to find an exit.

I must admit by now I was getting a little aggravated about this completely silly mess.

On the way back, I might have even mentioned ten or twelve times how forgetful, she was becoming.  Then I may have mentioned the fact she had several other pairs that would do just as well.  I must add that all this criticism and complaining fell on deaf ears.  We were going back come hell or high water.

Finally, I lost it.  “You are just getting old and senile.  I swear you would leave your butt if it wasn’t attached.”

This wonderful thought out statement was met with a cold wall of silent stares.

We finally made it to the restaurant and as she was getting out I ask as politely as possible.

“Honey, you mind grabbing my cap and credit card while you are in there.”

Pulling in the parking lot reminded me that I had left them.

Aint getting old just great?

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, January 2010, stories, Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “THE ROAD TRIP”


  1. […] story comes courtesy of Gartalker. He was the source of “Words some people remember“, which was posted here a few days […]

  2. chamblee54 Says:

    I borrowed this story for my blog. I hope you don’t mind.


Leave a Reply

