Carnival

When I was a kid about seven years old, I went to the country fair in Kosciusko. I had done odd jobs all summer. You name it if I could make a nickel or a dime I did it. Most was back breaking work or so it seemed at the time.

I even went to the fields and picked cotton after school every day for a week. Even after my granddaddy placed his thumb on the scale, it wasn’t much.

That Saturday night I was so excited I couldn’t hardly retain myself. I had saved almost two dollars over the summer. I knew exactly where I was going to spend it and I knew my mother wouldn’t like it.

I had plotted how to get around that also. I hadn’t left a stone unturned when it came to the planning of this trip.

When we finally arrived, my sisters were screaming to ride on the merry go round. My mother wanted me to ride with them. I explained I was too big to go on such a baby ride. Then partially by plan and more by luck a school friend walked by.

After some careful negations, I was given permission to go with him. I had to be at the Farris Wheel in one hour exactly.

I had plenty of time. I used my decoy to get out of my mother’s site then I was on my on. I was headed to the area I wanted to go. I walked by the lady that said she was half man. I was tempted to pay the quarter but that would have to be another year. Tonight I was on a mission.

I passed the rifle shoots and the basketball throws. Even the tents with the two-headed animals. That was tougher than the half-and-half woman was. Still I had only so much money and I couldn’t spend any thing until I had accomplished my goal.

There it was the dish booth. If you could throw but two dimes in the same cup, you would win a prize. I made it with the second dime. Then I was almost broke when I made it the second time. YES, YES. I was a winner for maybe the first time in my young life.

I had won the five-battery flash light.

“Good choice young man.” The man behind the counter announced loudly. He was letting any passer bys know that even a kid could win.

A minute later and after some discussion, I found out that it did not come with batteries.

I listen to my mother tell me how stupid and wrong I was all the way home. I was deaf to what she had to say. I had gone and I had accomplished my mission. Nobody could understand the pleasure I felt.

Three weeks later, a lot more butt busting, and I had the money for the batteries.

That night I carefully inserted them into the cheap metal flash light. I went out into the dark cold night and pressed the button.

“OHHHHHHHH!’

It shorted out and burned my hand.

My mother actually held her tongue. It really wasn’t any thing left to be said except maybe a fool and his money.

Explore posts in the same categories: April 2010, ramdom thoughts, stories

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

