I DON’T BELIEVE IN CHRISTMAS

This will most likely be my last post until after Christmas. With this said I wish you and all yours the very best of the holidays.

That’s right the best of holidays not Merry Christmas. You see my dear readers I am a hypocrite. Many of you may have already figured this out by other posting I have made.

I am a hypocrite because I say things I don’t believe in and practice things that I think are stupid.

  1. I don’t believe in Santa. I believe Coca Cola invited him to sell pop. Then the department stores adopted him to sale toys.
  2. I don’t believe in flying reindeer nor do I believe in Rudolph. I believe a writer working for Montgomery Wards made up a story and a front cover for their Christmas catalog one year. I believe Gene Audrey made a small fortune singing about this catalog cover.
  3. I don’t believe in Christmas trees. I think they came from the pagans. I also don’t believe in Christmas decorations. They came from the same pagans the trees came from.
  4. I don’t even believe in Christmas itself. I think the Catholic church invented it to draw some of the traffic away from the pagans that were celebrating the first day of winter.
  5. Worst of all I don’t believe Christ was born In December. I think most likely it was late March middle April. Maybe even April Fools Day. Wouldn’t that be a devil of a something. Underline devil. If he couldn’t stop it. Maybe he thought he could change the date and commercialize it.

I also believe this. If Christmas makes you happy as it does me. Go for it. If people can take one day a year and not be such a—hole, great. If the malls can make a buck off the deal that is great. You see I don’t see profit as a dirty word. I am in business and haven’t figured out how to stay in it without a profit.

Now what makes me a hypocrite.

  1. I give out presents every year.
  2. I have a big old fake tree with lights and greenery every where.
  3. In fact my wife has a model sleigh filled with presents setting in the floor.

Still I am not as bad if that is possible as my neighbor that has a manger scene in her front yard. There Santa is peering over into the feed box at the baby Jesus. Near there is the wise men placing their gifts under a Christmas tree.

I suppose she speaks for us all. For some strange reason we prefer a lie blended into our Christmas cheer.

Alright forget how I started this off.

Merry Christmas to each and all,

gary

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, curious, humor, life, life lessons, lol, ramdom thoughts, rants, stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I DON’T BELIEVE IN CHRISTMAS”

  1. chamblee54 Says:

    Christmas is not something you believe. Christmas is something you do.


Leave a Reply

