COME AND GONE

Yes, Christmas has come and gone again. This was my 62nd Christmas. If I were to allow myself a little melodrama I would wonder how many I had left. I want though for the future isn’t mine. I am only allowed to live in the present and see back to yesterday.

That in itself has never seemed very important to me. It has taken on a whole new meaning in the last couple of years though. My dad has Alzheimer and his past is slowly closing into a dark hole. Each day the hole seems to grow smaller. I am afraid soon he will no longer remember me.

If you don’t remember yesterday how in the world can you look forward to tomorrow. Perhaps that is one way we are different from the animals.

Any way I have tried my best to get in the Christmas spirit this year. Since Thanksgiving I have done everything I could think of. Then this morning on the way to work I felt it. I smiled and thought only one day late. Maybe that is how my dad feels. He just can’t quiet pull up enough of the past to look forward to the future.

This leaves him stuck in the moment. He neither knows for sure where he has been nor where he is going. My anchor, my rock is dissolving before my eyes.

Explore posts in the same categories: life, life lessons, ramdom thoughts, spirituel, stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “COME AND GONE”

  1. My Homepage Says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: gartalker.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/come-and-gone/ […]…

  2. Gail Says:

    I Understand……Take a Deep Breath….Tell your Dad that you love him and be there for him…he may get very childlike as his condition progresses…love him just the same and be there for him as much as you can…you will be very glad you did…..

  3. Homepage Says:

    I take excellent pleasure in reading articles with quality content material. This write-up is 1 such writing that I can appreciate. Maintain up the excellent function. 112880


  4. Love it I m not sure it s centered on the wall, but for now that s where it s going to stay until it gets moved.

  5. wowgoldwhc Says:

    Ive been meaning to read this and just never obtained a chance. Its an issue that Im incredibly interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a terrific blogger, one of the best that Ive seen. This blog certainly has some info on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

  6. Seth Munden Says:

    I became incredibly to get this web site. I needed to thanks to your time during this great place!!


Leave a Reply

