THE BIG EASY

There was time in my life that I thought New Orleans was the greatest city in the world. I could just see myself riding the street cars to work every day. I would have lived in the French Quarter of course.

 

I suppose age has changed my mind about New Orleans. That and the fact I have been enough times I now realized life for the people who live; there is not the same as the tourist like myself just visiting.

 

Still though, I can honestly say there is no where else like New Orleans. I am not a big traveler, but I have visited New York, Atlanta, Chicago and few other cities. Yes, I have even stayed at the Peabody in Memphis. Still, nothing holds a candle to the Big Easy.

 

When in Dallas, I found the people there loved Texas. People that live in New Orleans love Louisiana, but they adore their beloved home-town New Orleans.

With all that said. I must say at the ripe old age of sixty two the city I so loved at one time looks different to me today. Damn old age. It rings all the fun out of everything.

 

I now am in somewhat agreement with Larry the Cable Man,

not totally, just kind of.

He said the following.

 

Even after the Super Bowl victory of the New Orleans Saints, I have noticed a large number of people, implying with bad jokes and anecdotes, that Loozianna Cajuns ain’t smart. I would like to state, for the record, that I disagree with that assessment. Anybody who would build a city 5 feet below sea level in a hurricane zone and fill it with Democrats who can’t swim is a damn genius.

 

The more I think about the subject. My thinking is somewhere between being twenty-one again and Larry the Cable Man.

 

They say you are once an adult and twice a child. Maybe some day I will be a Democrat again and in love with the Big Easy.

Explore posts in the same categories: 2012, curious, Current events, Growing up, humor, life, life lessons, lol, Mississippi, politics, ramdom thoughts, rants, stories, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

